moonshot – lipfeat

I knew this brand as the cosmetic brand by YG Entertainment, which gave us Kpop legends like BIGBANG and 2NE1, but I had no idea whether their products were as good as their artistes (haha). I also first saw their products on social media, which speaks a lot about their branding as a cosmetic brand marketed by celebrity power.

lipfeat is a lipstick promoted by YG’s latest girl group BLACKPINK, and boasts of bright colours, almost telling of the girls’ bright personalities on stage.


Product description

One touch true color, now your lips on stage

Official Retail Price in Singapore: SGD 29 (only available in Sephora)

moonshot


I bought S811 Barely Nude, which was marketed as Rosé’s favourite. It’s a very gorgeous nude shade that is neither too orange nor pink. I love these coral / apricot shades a lot, as seen from my previous reviews of LANEIGE Two Tone Lip Bar and MISSHA Coloring Multi Stick. They are really flattering and natural-looking, and a nice change from the usual sweet pink tones. I find this colour rather easy to apply with any type of make-up as well because it doesn’t look too strong.

Personally, I really, really like all the shades in the Acoustic Nude range, but I just picked something that would ‘pop’ less because I wasn’t so sure I could pull those colours off. My next top pick would probably be S210 Peach and Cream, a richer & more pink version of S811.

moonshot-lipfeat_4

UPDATE: I recently purchased another colour, M114 Muse Pink in Korea.

I feel that this shade fits me better than the Barely Nude shade I got (sorry Rosé’!) due to my slightly tanned skin. It’s a lighter shade of pink that would go well with most skin tones, and I highly recommend this shade if you’re afraid that nude shades might not go very well on you (e.g. make you look rather sickly).

If there’s one thing I love about this product, it is the colour payoff. It is as rich as it claims to be, and you can see the colour with just one smooth swipe on your lips. The unique, flat shape of the lipstick also helps in making application super easy because it fits your lip contours nicely. The colour also stays on for rather long, even after I repeatedly drink water, and even eat.

However, this product still comes with its own flaws. Firstly, the lipstick is really small. For something that I like to use very often and on the pricier end of my lipstick collection, I seriously wish this comes in a bigger volume. Secondly, it tends to dry my lips out quite easily, and creates a bit of an uneven stain on my lips – sort of like the LANEIGE Two Tone Lip Bar. I don’t really encounter this problem with other brands like LANCÔME, so I’m guessing it could be the formula.


Final Verdict

I’m quite impressed that this product works beyond the star power it comes with. In fact, I have seen a lot of good reviews about moonshot’s products, and it also helps that YG artistes use them very often when they make public appearances. If YG makeup artists use it so often on their idols, who are widely scrutinized by public for long periods of time, it does say something about the quality and staying power of their products.

I think this is pretty worth-it for something of such good quality and boosted by YG star power. The colour range is also very tempting, especially when it looks so good on BLACKPINK. There’s almost one shade for every mood, and the golden mist can even double as an eyeshadow!

I’m just a tad worried about how long one lipstick can last me, because I really enjoy using it so much. If you share the same concerns as me and just want to find something that you can keep using for a long time, this is not the product for you. However, if you’re the kind of person who hoards 100 lipsticks and uses 1 different product everyday, you may want to try this out, because you’ll be left with no regrets.


Rating

Colour payoff: ✮✮✮✮✮
Ease of use: ✮✮✮✮✮
Staying power: ✮✮✮✮✮
Value for money: ✮✮✮

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

