Innisfree Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask

As a fan of sheet masks for their convenience and how good they immediately make my skin feels, I had my fair share of doubts about wash-off masks when I got a sample of  this with my Innisfree membership (go sign up if you haven’t!)

Frankly, it’s not often that I see very enthusiastic reviews about Innisfree – most are just okay with the products, some rather happy, but none as eager as the ones I have seen regarding this mask. I had seen so many raving reviews about this product all over the Internet that I thought I would just give it a go.


Product description

A 6-in-1 pore treatment clay mask containing super volcanic cluster capsules to effectively absorb sebum and cleanse pores

Official Retail Price in Singapore: SGD 22.16

wpid-main_en20130822


Ingredient list

WATER, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, VOLCANIC ASH, GLYCERIN, SILICA, TREHALOSE, KAOLIN, BENTONITE, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, ZINC OXIDE (CI 77947), GLYCERYL STEARATE, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, JUGLANS REGIA (WALNUT) SHELL POWDER, CAMELLIA SINENSIS LEAF EXTRACT, CITRUS UNSHIU PEEL EXTRACT, OPUNTIA COCCINELLIFERA FRUIT EXTRACT, ORCHID EXTRACT, CAMELLIA JAPONICA LEAF EXTRACT, PVP, PEG-100 STEARATE, POLYSORBATE 60, STEARIC ACID, PALMITIC ACID, HYDROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL, XANTHAN GUM, IRON OXIDES (CI 77499), ZEA MAYS (CORN) STARCH, SORBITAN STEARATE, POLYACRYLATE-13, MANNITOL, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, LACTIC ACID, POLYISOBUTENE, MENTHOXYPROPANEDIOL, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, TETRASODIUM PYROPHOSPHATE, POLYSORBATE 20, IRON OXIDES (CI 77491), DISODIUM EDTA, PHENOXYETHANOL

I don’t do this for my reviews on makeup products, but I try to take special care when it comes to skincare – after all, I’m trying to save my skin, not kill it. As usual, what really jumps out from this list is how highly ranked Volcanic Ash is, which is a good sign!


I have very serious issues with my pores and oily skin – I could clear my black and whiteheads on one weekend, and have them appear again the next day. Thus, I’ve been on a hunt for any product that could help me keep this problem under control, and I’m so glad to find something that really, really works.

This is pretty easy to apply, even though it does take slightly more effort than your usual sheet masks. Just spread it over your face, wash it after 10-15 minutes of application, and you’re done!

After applying this on my face and rinsing it off, I can see the immediate difference. Gone are my white and blackheads on my nose, and my pores are significantly smaller than before. It works so much better than my Bioré Pore Pack, which only helps to yank out some blackheads (emphasis on some), but not help me to absorb excess oil off my T-zone. My face instantly feels refreshed and tighter after a quick mask session that I would use this everyday if I could – but it’s not recommended (!) and my sample is only 10ml worth, so I can’t afford to waste it, haha. This is really different from the sheet masks I usually use, because those do not target pores and oil control.

wpid-brief_2_9fcb86f1-18ea-4cde-b661-f8b13d28f6bc_grande


Final Verdict

After just the first time I used this, I became so thoroughly convinced by its effectiveness that I’m extremely keen to get a full-sized product. I’m very fussy about the skincare products that I use, because I tend to have very oily, sensitive, acne-prone, dull skin (a ton of problems, I know), so it says a lot when I strongly recommend a skincare product.

I think the price is very justifiable as well. A 10ml sample is likely to last me for 5 months, with 1-2 applications per week, so a 100ml one is more than sufficient to cover your masking needs for very long. It’s almost as good as a cheap sheet mask you can get from Innisfree, but with targeted application.

The only downside I can find about this product is that it does not really moisturize your skin, nor feeds it with as much ‘nutrients’ as other masks promise to do, or at least make you feel like they do. If you face dry skin, this is probably not the mask you’re looking for. However, if you have skin that is really oily, and pores that need tightening and cleaning, you cannot give this product a miss.


Rating

Ease of use: ✮✮✮✮✮
Effectiveness: ✮✮✮✮✮
Value for money: ✮✮✮✮

Leave a Reply

