Innisfree Bija Trouble Facial Foam

I first bought this product in Jeju, Korea. It’s not exactly one of their star product lines (think Jeju Orchid, Green Tea and Volcanic Pore Clay Mask) and I couldn’t remember exactly why I chose this over, say, the Green Tea Facial Foam. Maybe I thought that my face was in dire trouble and needed help from a product advertised as targeting trouble skin. Some quick facts:


Product description

A refreshing facial foam for skin trouble

  1. This refined, foamy lather thoroughly cleanses pores while preventing and relieving skin trouble.
  2. Contains natural ingredients, such as salicylic acid, to remove dead skin cells and treat skin problems

Official Retail Price in Singapore: SGD 14.78


Ingredient list

WATER, GLYCERIN, STEARIC ACID, MYRISTIC ACID, PEG-32, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, LAURIC ACID, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, COCAMIDOPROPYL BETAINE, GLYCERYL STEARATE, TORREYA NUCIFERA SEED OIL(750mg), SALICYLIC ACID, CITRUS UNSHIU PEEL EXTRACT, ORCHID EXTRACT, CAMELLIA SINENSIS LEAF EXTRACT, DEXTRIN, CAMELLIA JAPONICA LEAF EXTRACT, DISODIUM EDTA, MENTHOL, OPUNTIA COCCINELLIFERA FRUIT EXTRACT, ROSA CENTIFOLIA FLOWER EXTRACT, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, PEG-100 STEARATE, THEOBROMA CACAO (COCOA) EXTRACT, SODIUM BENZOATE, FRAGRANCE

I’m still trying to learn more about reading the ingredients in skincare products. It’s similar to reading the ingredient labels on food, except I found out that this can really get pretty complicated.

At one glance, you can see the long list of natural ingredients that Innisfree prides itself for: Torreya Nucifera Seed Oil, Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract, Orchid Extract, Camellia Sinesis Leaf Extract, Camellia Japonica Leaf Extract, Opuntia Coccinellifera Fruit Extract, Rosa Centifolia Flower Extract, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Extract…. let’s be honest, we might not really understand what all these ingredients are supposed to be / do for our skin, but it sure does look like an overload of natural stuff.

What’s pretty disappointing is that star ingredient, Torreya Nucifera Seed Oil, is pretty far behind on the list, meaning to say that it probably comes in smaller quantities in the formula.


Final Verdict

I have been using this product for about two months, and I honestly have not experienced much of an improvement in my acne problem, which is rather disappointing. Using this product does leave a rather nice, cooling sensation on my face after a good wash, but other than that I have not seen any marked improvements in my skin condition.

Word of caution though, this may have been due to the fact that I use a lot of other products (toner, masks, etc.). My acne breakout (or lack of improvement) could have been caused by something else, like oily skin caused by BB cream clogging my pores. For example, I’ve seen some good reviews of this product on the Innisfree website, such as:

Perfect for controlling my oily skin and acne. I’ve noticed changes within a week. My blemishes have faded and I don’t have many bumps on my cheeks any more. Refreshing and soothing, calms the skin and has great coverage. I only use a bead as small as a pea and it successfully washes my full face and neck. Lovely product, will be purchasing again. Definitely recommend using along with the whole Bija Trouble Care range, including the toner and lotion. Would love to also try the spot cream. Easy steps when combing the three products.

Also what works for me may not work for you, different skin types so may work differently. But definitely worth a try.

 I still think it’s slightly pricey for a cleanser, but the huge volume had me sold when I first saw it (lol). I would recommend this if you don’t have sensitive skin, because not everyone’s skin is suited to using natural ingredients such as Camellia Japonica Leaf Extract. However, if you have sensitive skin AND a bad acne breakout, I would suggest trying something else instead, because you really need a product that can thoroughly flush out the dirt and oil while being gentle on your skin.


Rating

Ease of use: ✮✮✮✮✮
Effectiveness: ✮✮
Value for money: ✮✮✮

Leave a Reply

