Etude House Precious Minerals BB Cream (Blooming Fit)

It hardly comes as a surprise that I use so many Etude House products, considering how affordable and good-quality they are, compared to a lot of other brands out there in the market. I’m not even a huge fan of the pink, princessy stuff which they brand themselves with, yet here I am singing praises of them haha, so I guess that tells a lot.

Personally, I think BB cream is probably the best makeup product invented. If you read it up on Wikipedia, BB cream ‘is promoted as an all-in-one facial cosmetic product to replace serum, moisturizer, primer, foundation and sunblock’. It may sound dubious to have a product that can claim to do it all, but I’m vouching for its effectiveness as someone who is extremely lazy and cannot afford the effort to do a long and lengthy makeup routine. If you wake up feeling like your skin (or maybe your whole body) is dying, you’d be amazed at how BB cream can make you look alive, even when you’re dying inside.


Product description

A signature BB cream that gives a shiny and glossy look with mineral pearl ingredients.
3-in-1 formula with Whitening + Wrinkle care + UV protection (SPF30 / PA++) functions.

Official Retail Price in Singapore: SGD 25.90


Korean brands were the pioneers at promoting BB cream as a must-have, and yet buying BB / CC creams from Korean brands is such a HEADACHE sometimes because of the colour range. Fair enough (pun intended), they always sell such light shades because it’s meant for the Korean market, where fair skin looks like a given + something they deem a mark of beauty. However, it also makes things hard for everyone else who doesn’t have porcelain skin, and who struggle to find a right colour fit, even if they choose the darker shades.

This precious minerals series includes Perfect Fit, Cotton Fit and Blooming Fit. I’ll be reviewing the Blooming Fit, which I got in the Honey Beige shade (W24).124241_6f9bea8a-fca6-11e4-895f-813487772fbablooming_img2

Application is as simple as the picture makes it out to be. The BB cream comes in this convenient packaging where you can just squeeze out a small amount, and just apply it evenly on your face. In Korea, I was taught to gently pat the cream into my face instead of simply spreading it all over for maximum absorption + better coverage. I think it probably works better that way too, but it can be rather time-consuming.

I was also told that cosmetics bought in Korea have a different formula from those sold in other markets. I haven’t compared the one in Singapore yet, but the one I bought in Korea feels really very oily, which is not very pleasant because I have oily skin to begin with.

It’s advertised as ‘Brightening: Containing bright pearl layer to provide delicate brightening effect on skin and care darkened skin with sebum for clear and delicate skin tone.’  I do admit that it gives you a nice dewy look thanks to how shiny & radiant it makes your skin look, but it only lasts long if your face is not an oil well.

I’m glad though, that the Honey Beige colour works pretty well for me because it’s just a tad lighter than my original skin tone. The coverage is also pretty good, but I feel that it doesn’t have strong staying power. It does cover all the red spots as necessary so that your face has a more even colour tone, but doesn’t necessarily make your 3D pimples look any flatter – sadly.


Final Verdict

It’s value for money, and there’s really nothing to hold you back from trying this product UNLESS, UNLESS, UNLESS you have oily skin. I could probably use this for 6 months or more, but the major problem I have with this is the oil.

I realized afterwards that the Blooming Fit is actually marketed as containing optical oil that reflects light to regular directions to maximize gloss and shine. I honestly won’t recommend clogging your pores with more oil just to achieve this gloss and shine, especially if you live in a hot and humid country like Singapore.

Really, if you have oily skin, please just get another product from the Precious Minerals series, such as Cotton Fit, which promises matte skin. Take it from a fellow oily-skin peer.

I’ll update again if I do try the other BB creams in this series.

cotton20fit20new2

You’ll like Etude House a lot if you’re a big fan of Krystal Jung ~


Rating

Colour payoff: ✮✮✮✮
Ease of use: ✮✮✮✮✮
Staying power: ✮✮✮
Value for money: ✮✮✮✮

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

